Another understanding..”Social Justice Warrior”

I’m going to try to get through this particular piece without puking on my keyboard at the saccharine horeshit this donkey is spewing. I’m also going to TRY very hard to keep this from devolving into the profanity laden diatribe that most friends and acquaintances expect.  On the other hand if it does devolve, and you’re easily offended…there’s the door. Don’t let it hit ya where the good lord split ya, on your way out.

Now I ran across this paragon of pansy ness upon my fail book wall this afternoon.  A student at Georgetown..Oliver Friedfeld was mugged and robbed last month.  Yet he “understands” how it happened and he’s not upset about it because…privilege.

“Last weekend, my housemate and I were mugged at gunpoint while walking home from Dupont Circle. The entire incident lasted under a minute, as I was forced to the floor, handed over my phone and was patted down.

And yet, when a reporter asked whether I was surprised that this happened in Georgetown, I immediately answered: “Not at all.” It was so clear to me that we live in the most privileged neighborhood within a city that has historically been, and continues to be, harshly unequal. While we aren’t often confronted by this stark reality west of Rock Creek Park, the economic inequality is very real.”

Economic “inequality” has always been with us boyo. Always has been, always will be to some extent. To deny that is insanity. To rail against the world that it should be otherwise, is pretentious ignorance…at best. Willful stupidity  There will always be have and have nots, rich and poor etc etc, however you want to say it. You get from the low end of that spectrum to the high end by working hard, and saving your pennies or investing them.  You do not get it through theft, either be it robbing someone else…or getting the government to do it for you. Doesn’t work that way. That way leads to chaos, violence and in the case of government wealth redistribution…you puling baby…social and economic collapse.

“Year after year, Washington, D.C., is ranked among the most unequal cities in the country, with the wealthiest 5 percent earning an estimated 54 times more than the poorest 20 percent. According to the D.C. Fiscal Policy Institute, just under 20 percent of D.C. residents live below the poverty line.”

Now lets assume those numbers are accurate. 18% live below the ‘poverty line’  Quit crying. Those numbers were from 2yrs ago in a report released last YEAR and the numbers were DOWN from the previous years.  Ranked unequal by WHO? The same people you got the numbers from? Details boy details. Links to verifiable and credible sources thanks.

“What has been most startling to me, even more so than the incident itself, have been the reactions I’ve gotten. I kept hearing “thugs,” “criminals” and “bad people.” While I understand why one might jump to that conclusion, I don’t think this is fair.”

Why not call them criminals? They have stolen what was yours.  They committed THEFT, which by extension also makes the moniker of CRIMINAL accurate.  The fact that you seem to want to rationalize that this is in fact not so, is a huge logical disconnect. Not really surprising but still.

Not once did I consider our attackers to be “bad people.” I trust that they weren’t trying to hurt me. In fact, if they knew me, I bet they’d think I was okay. They wanted my stuff, not me. While I don’t know what exactly they needed the money for, I do know that I’ve never once had to think about going out on a Saturday night to mug people. I had never before seen a gun, let alone known where to get one. The fact that these two kids, who appeared younger than I, have even had to entertain these questions suggests their universes are light years away from mine.”

The fact you don’t consider them bad people is your choice. Most people would.  You trust they didn’t want to hurt you, they very well might have had you objected to being robbed. Or they might have just shot you out of hand because you “trust” Then instead of pontificating about equality and social justice…you’d either be in a hospital or a corpse.  They appeared younger than you? Then it’s entirely apparent their parents either aren’t there or haven’t beaten them anywhere NEAR enough.  Have you ever considered by the way that you live in the same universe? If they lived in a different universe…then in point of fact, unless they’ve figured out faster than light transport, interdimensional rifts and/or teleportation; and since I see no evidence of this…I pronounce unequivically they live in this same universe as us. They are just cold, and jaded, and as a friend of mine my say.”young, dumb and full of cum”  of course it’s also entirely possible they are just as well of as you are and just ‘bored’. Frightening thought that one.

I come from a solidly middle-class family, and, with relatives in Mexico City, certainly don’t consider myself entirely shielded from poverty. And yet I’d venture to guess that our attackers have had to experience things I’ve never dreamed of. When I struggled in school, I had parents who willingly sat down with me and helped me work through it. When I have a problem, I have countless people who I can turn to for solid advice.

Okay so your attackers may have had a different set of life experiences than you, may not have a guiding hand in their parents. Guess what, criminality is a CHOICE. They chose to pull a gun on you and then further chose to commit armed robbery. A felony I might add.  They could have just as easily chose to fight for their education, learned, and bettered themselves and their situation as a consequence. Nope. They chose crime.

When I walk around at 2 a.m., nobody looks at me suspiciously, and police don’t ask me any questions. I wonder if our attackers could say the same.

How do you know you aren’t viewed with suspicion?  That’s presumption on your part. A stupid one at that.

Who am I to stand from my perch of privilege, surrounded by million-dollar homes and paying for a $60,000 education, to condemn these young men as “thugs?” It’s precisely this kind of “otherization” that fuels the problem.

The day one of those misunderstood thugs shoots you, stabs you or shoves you off your supposed privileged perch..I’m going to laugh. Of course I’m also going to demand those poor, underprivileged assholes be found and summarily executed for your murder because hey…privilege!  The only problem is your presumption of a problem where their is none. The “otherization” as you call it, is a made up, non existent word. That kind of crap irritates me. It’s not otherization, it’s ostracizing. Which means to shun or expunge people or things that are not good or perceived as not healthy for the common good. Theft and criminality are in fact BAD for the common good. Therefore those who practice it should be ostracized and shunned.

Young people who willingly or unwillingly go down this road have been dealt a bad hand.

excusing peoples bad behavior encourages that bad behavior.  Just thought I’d point out that by doing so, you’re perpetuating  that bad behavior.  You won’t see that but that’s your problem until you make it mine.
While speaking with a D.C. police officer after the incident, he explained that he too had come from difficult circumstances, and yet had made the decision not to get involved in crime. This is a very fair point — we all make decisions. Yet I’ve never had to decide whether or not to steal from people. We’re all capable of good and bad, but it’s a whole lot easier for me to choose good than it may be for them to.

And the cop just made my point for me. A life of crime, is a choice.

If we ever want opportunistic crime to end, we should look at ourselves first. Simply amplifying police presence will not solve the issue. Police protect us by keeping those “bad people” out of our neighborhood, and I’m grateful for it. And yet, I realize it’s self-serving and doesn’t actually fix anything.

Putting those bad people, those thugs, those criminals in jail fixes it to an extent  Teaching the young coming up, right from wrong is better. Punishing them for making the wrong decision and showing them why it’s a the wrong decision is better. Sadly the prison system has become a graduate school for criminals to learn more about how to enhance their skills, than a punishment in some cases. But that’s another discussion entirely.

When we play along with a system that fuels this kind of desperation, we can’t be surprised when we’re touched by it. Maybe these two kids are caught, and this recent crime wave dies down, but it will return because the demand is still there, and the supply is still here. We have a lot, and plenty of opportunities to make even more. They have very little, and few opportunities to make ends meet.

 Define a system that fuels desperation?  If those two kids are caught, the crime wave won’t die down just because two are arrested. Now if they can be taught to see the error of their ways then they’ll cease to be a problem that way but..the crime wave will still be there.  Why do you seem to see bettering yourself monetarily, making a better life for yourself, your friends and your family as a bad thing? Is it some misplaced asinine sense of guilt because your parents made a better life for themselves and you?  Now there’s spitting in the face of your families hard work. Yes there ARE lots of opportunities out there, the fact these thugs and thug wanna be’s choose to see opportunity in criminal enterprise is a problem. 

The millennial generation is taking over the reins of the world, and thus we are presented with a wonderful opportunity to right some of the wrongs of the past. As young people, we need to devote real energy to solving what are collective challenges. Until we do so, we should get comfortable with sporadic muggings and break-ins. I can hardly blame them. The cards are all in our hands, and we’re not playing them.

 *sounds of retching can be heard in the room, followed by words that turn the air blue*

http://www.thehoya.com/i-was-mugged-and-i-understand-why/

Standard

Leave a Reply

