Stupid people are making my head hurt…again.

So…from a friend of a friend. an article written by, oddly enough…a lady named Caren…acting like one. She has a gardening blog called Advice from teh Herb Lady. she teaches gardening courses at Rutgers and at someplace called the Earth Center in Middlesex. after having read the following article all I can say. With a complete lack of respect because for the following pile of manure, she deserves none? Is…not to put to fine a point on it..Carennn…you’re being a HUUUUUUGE snobbish, elitist, “sister betty lou better than you, holier than thou, cunt.
She wrote the following delightful little, elitist, infantile and whining so called “rant” on medium dot com. said rant having already been pulled from Medium…by her. Unfortunately for her…the internet is forever. Probably after she got a series of verbal beatings for her braying jackassery. perpend
“I was walking down the baking aisle to see if the organic flour was on sale. Organic flour is expensive and I am poor so I always try to buy it when it goes on sale. There was no sale and no flour. The shelves were bare. My eyes travelled up to the top shelf. The shelf with the leavening ingredients. Also bare.
How could this be?
When I got home, I logged on to my laptop and started reading articles on the pandemic. I had stopped reading most pandemic related articles weeks ago because they were upsetting me too much. I couldn’t sleep. I couldn’t concentrate. I needed to distance myself. But I knew that the pandemic had something to do with the bare shelves in the baking aisle so I exposed myself to the turmoil once more.
It seems that there has been a run on flour and yeast because people are bored so they are baking bread to pass the time.
Seriously?
Baking bread is a way of life for me, not a hobby. Not something to do just to pass the time. I don’t eat store-bought bread. I rarely eat prepared foods of any kind. If you visited my kitchen, you would find food but nothing to eat because I only stock ingredients. I do all of my own cooking and baking. On Saturday nights, I don’t order pizza, I make it. From scratch. Including the crust. I also grow my own popcorn, but that’s a topic for another day.
You see, I am one of THOSE people. You know the ones. You offer them a plate of food and they look at it suspiciously asking “Is that organic?” I want to know what is in my food so I make it myself. By the way, croutons? Made from my homemade bread. Breading for fried chicken? Made from my homemade bread. Stuffing for the Thanksgiving turkey? Made from my homemade bread. So when you buy up all of the flour and leavening ingredients for the sake of pretty photos on your Instagram feed you are literally taking food from my mouth. And the mouths of other families who also do their own their baking so that they can provide healthy food for their families.
Here’s the problem. It’s Economics 101. Supply and Demand. Before the pandemic, very few people did scratch baking so the grocery stores carried only limited supplies of flour and leavening. Both go bad, so they don’t want it hanging around the shelves for too long. Hence the limited quantities. That was okay. There was always enough for those of us who needed it. But there is not enough now that we are competing with a bunch of dilettante bakers who care nothing for anyone but themselves.
Yes, I know that sounds harsh, but I’m willing to bet that not a single one of them stopped to think as they grabbed the last of the flour and the yeast that they were robbing other people’s children of their daily bread. Nope. I’m certain all they cared about was how impressed everyone was going to be with their picture perfect loaves of bread.
Here’s an idea. If you are bored and want to learn new skills, why don’t you learn how to garden and impress everyone with your tomatoes? Or how about learning how to sew to make masks for hospitals and first responders? I know, learn to crochet so you can make those cute market bags for when you go to the farmer’s market.
But, please, please, I’m begging you, stop baking bread”
Caren…that was one of the most asinine, infantile piles of shit I’ve read recently….and that’s saying something.
You admit to finally pulling your head out of one of the gopher holes in your garden, or your ass, I’m not sure which; to read about the panic buying due to this so called pandemic. You then go on to make a YUUUGGE assumptive statement by saying people are buying baking ingredients to make bread because they are bored. You go on to even more blindly and obnoxiously bloviate by saying “that we are now competeing with a bunch of dillettante bakers who care nothing for anyone but themselves.”
Let me take those two noxious and nausea inducing statements one at a time. On second thought..you don’t deserve a detailed fisking of your fucktardery so, shut your whore mouth Caren and pay attention. Because I’m gonna try and beat a simple concept thru that thick fucking head of yours
No Caren. Just…NO. You see smart people are stocking up on baking ingredients, [among other things] especially after the “2weeks” is now being stretched in 3 and 4 and in at least one states case iirc FIVE MONTHS, in some places, because some people aren’t as oblivious and elitist as you. They didn’t go “oh boo hoo this news is upsetting me..I must ignore it becsuse it fucks with my preconceptions of things” Those people saw the inevitable 2nd and 3rd level effects of stopping an economy damn near dead in it’s tracks. They were unsurprised by the farms plowing vegetable crops under or leaving it to rot in the field. They were unsurprised by the meat processing plants closing down. they were unsurprised by the news that dairy farms are dumping upwards of  2-4 MILLION  gallons of raw milk A DAY because there was no longer anyone to sell to. They were unsurprised by the fact ranchers are slaughering their live stock to thin their herds because beef and cattle are fucking EXPENSIVE to feed and care for. same with other meat…pigs and poultry. They understand that one of the goddamned near guaranteed result of this gov’t instituted cluster fuck is not just a recession but a depression where learning to make your own food, yes, including bread you slack jawed idiot; might just be the difference between surviving and starving to death! Admittedly some of it was panic buying and thinking that in those 2 weeks the entire world would grind to a halt and assuming that bread and toilet paper would suddenly be scarce. or that at the very least, assumed our diktat spewing, wanna be masters, would force us to stay at home and shut everything down, so best make sure there’s enough food in the larder for that time frame. No go back and stick your head back in your garden, or up your ass..I don’t give a damn which. and by all means…keep your mouth shut. unless it’s to teach people to garden for fruits and vegetables and create their own “truck” garden as a means of both sustenance and survival. By the way? bread is a simple staple food that is needed for the carbs for work and survival. Moronic flea.

the google cache of this article

https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache%3AEaDElV0MkNAJ%3Ahttps%3A%2F%2Fmedium.com%2F%40carenawhite%2Fwhy-you-need-to-stop-baking-bread-cf6b77bd7c56&hl=en&gl=us&strip=1&vwsrc=0&fbclid=IwAR2vEHoQCb_Bg6p_V0kIFaxvk1d1XQG6r4pNRV3xMSP0cExZR8fCcCe9Go4

Standard

Leave a comment